Single, Not Broken

As soon as I began college, it started. My friends paired off and married, two by two. There was a period of almost a year in which I attended at least one wedding a month. While I still have some unattached comrades, most of my friends have said their vows and joined the League of the Married™*. I believe that for them, that was the right decision. It fit into the life that they wanted and involved attaching themselves to someone who was good to and for them. I am happy for my married friends. But I want something different.

Twenty-one and single, however, is not something that my culture accepts. Since I was in high school, I’ve been pushed toward relationships:  relatives ask at every family gathering why I don’t have a boyfriend, and friends take on the responsibility of telling me who to date. Now, most of my friends are engrossed enough in their own romantic lives that they leave mine alone, but the stigma of singleness remains. One friend of mine frequently told me that he was afraid that I would be a crazy cat lady, and so always tried to set me up with his friends.  I’m not even seeing anyone, yet my mother wanted to buy a coffee mug for my future husband. I won’t even start the list of people who have talked about my future as a mother. I feel like Eleanor Dashwood, pitied as a spinster despite her age of nineteen. When I look at the expectations pertaining to marriage in this culture, I can’t help but wonder, “Why?”

The current couples’ culture that exists in the States devalues the individual by declaring that if someone, especially someone female, does not have a significant other, that person is somehow defective. If a person does not place the same irrational value on romantic relationships as everyone else does, they are viewed as hard-hearted. I don’t agree with that view. I believe that a single woman (or man) has just as much value as a married one. I don’t have to be married to be a good person—or an important one. Marriage isn’t my focus in life. My focus is to learn, grow, and establish myself as a writer and a member of my community.

Being single doesn’t mean that you are a bad person; it means that you are moving in a different direction.

*The League of the Married is not an actual trademark (at least to my knowledge).

4 thoughts on “Single, Not Broken

  1. I agree, and I feel it too, even if I’m a bit young than you. The whole “I need to get a boyfriend”-thing is getting ridiculous. However, I do believe it would be nice with a boyfriend, but I’m not looking and don’t give the thought much attention. I can make it on my own, if I want to.

    • I think that’s a great attitude. Personally, I’m of the opinion that if I find a man I love and want to be around the rest of my life, that’s great; if I don’t, that’s great, too.

      • Then we share that opinion….it was just that I didn’t know how to express myself properly (english isn’t my native language) 🙂

  2. Biblical writers would agree with you, si?

    I sometimes wonder how many women share the desire to be themselves, by themselves, but don’t because of the stigma and the worry associated with it.

Leave a Reply

